Africa, Music

Now Listening: Yegna

Yegna Band Ethiopia

I had every intention of posting about Beyonce’s new self titled album when I started writing this week’s Music review post. I could sit here and tell you all about how much her new album has slayed all her competition and changed the music industry as a whole. But I don’t believe King Bey (Yes, King) needs anymore media attention for her act of pure genius when she dropped an album in almost total secret while you were sleeping. Instead, I want to bring your attention to the Ethiopian Yegna Band. They first caught my attention when I stumbled upon the music video for their hit song Abet on TV. My first thought was “I wish I could understand what this song means” because the message seems so powerful, a breath of fresh air from the disgusting music videos and lyrics dripping with sex (Ahem, Miley anyone?).  And I was right, Sauti ya Furaha explains that this video is part of a campaign aimed at improving girls’ self esteem in the Ethiopian society. “Yegna” means We are here in Amharic and so without further ado, here they are; Abet by Yegna ft Haile Roots.

Isn’t this the most colourful video you’ve seen since Mafikizolo’s Khona? I just love this video. Yegna is not just a band, its a radio drama act and talk show that empowers the women of Ethiopia. If this cause is not worthy enough for you to share their music, then I don’t know what is.

Leave a comment below and tell me what you think of their music.

Standard

Leave a Reply

